Global links and utilities:

Virginia State University Home

< Back

HBCU Male President of the Year and VSU wins Best Business Program

Published date: July 17, 2017

On Friday, July 15, Virginia State University (VSU) did it again! VSU was the recipient of two 2017 Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) Awards during the 2017 HBCU Awards ceremony presented by the Thurgood Marshall College Fund. The ceremony ended the two-day HBCU Executive Media Training Institute hosted by HBCU Digest in Washington, D.C. VSU President Makola M. Abdullah was named the 2017 HBCU Male President of the Year.  Also, the University’s Reginald F. Lewis College of Business was named the HBCU Best Business Program.  


The Trojans were very represented at the awards ceremony. President Abdullah along with administrators, faculty, staff, students and alumni were in attendance displaying their love and support of their beloved alma mater. During his acceptance of the award, Abdullah shared with the audience his gratitude and love for VSU.

I would like to thank VSU Board of Visitors, faculty, staff, students and alumni for all that they do for Virginia State University,” said President Abdullah, who has served as VSU President for a year and a half. “I am very excited to be at Virginia State and I love Virginia State University. I would like to also thank HBCU Digest for their work in sharing the great stories of our universities.”

The Reginald F. Lewis College of Business is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB). The accreditation distinguishes the College as part of an elite class because only 5 percent of the world’s business schools share this exclusive accreditation. The College is named after alumnus Reginal F. Lewis, who was a lawyer, entrepreneur, philanthropist and America’s first black billionaire businessman.  

VSU was named as a finalist in seven categories. The other five categories were as follows: Best Student Government Association, Best Choir, Alumna of the Year, Male Coach of the Year and HBCU of the Year. Winners were selected by a panel of previous HBCU Award winners, presidents and chancellors and members of the media, which cover HBCUs.

Share this page: